A Tryst With Destiny

On 28-29 December 2005, exactly 5 years ago, I made a tryst with destiny. Today, I am proud to say, I redeemed my pledge almost in full measure.

It was on the night of 28 December that my brother and I were taken into custody by the police and illegally detained in Saroornagar Police Station at the behest of Pappu Malathi and her entourage of legal terrorists.

At the stroke of the midnight hour (29 December), as the world slept, I was awake to the threat to my freedom and life as I knew it.

A moment comes, which comes but rarely in history, when we step out from the old to the new, when an age ends, and when the soul of a nation, long suppressed, finds utterance. It was at that solemn moment that I took the pledge of dedication to make the night count – for myself, my family and my country – and to fight against legal terrorism.

Through good and ill fortune alike, I never lost sight of that quest, nor forgot the ideals which gave me strength. I end today, a period of personal legal battles, and I discover myself again.  The achievement I celebrate today is but a step, an opening of opportunity to the greater triumphs and achievements that await me in the larger war against legal terrorism.

(Note: I seek the indulgence of my readers for having taken most lines straight out of the original speech by Jawaharlal Nehru, since there is no better way to say this).

One Response to A Tryst With Destiny

  1. Gokul.P.R says:

    Even if we decide to act just upon the injustices we face in our personal lives, how much ever little a step that may be… these acts of conviction will add up and clean up the society we all live in. So do act, how much ever little or great you can afford to make it to be.

Leave a Reply

