Life – Fraggle Rock to 498A

When I was 10 yrs old, my brothers and I used to hurry home from school every Saturday afternoon to watch a puppet show called “Fraggle Rock” on our brand new TV (our first). I’d feel very disappointed if we missed it because we could not catch the bus or the train got late. I missed very few episodes but I am so glad I did not miss the messages given by this seemingly juvenile show. They got me through 498A and so much more!

Over the last 5 years many people have come to me for help in 498A cases. They brought me their troubles, and I learned something from every person I met in my “gutter party”.  Reminds me of Trash Heap’s words below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04Zz-GRPAzA

When I was just a little bitty trash heap,
Mama told me, Child, there's something you should know (you should know):
Everybody's got to have a special dream that they can dream.

That means troubles, that means pain, that means woe, woe, woe,
That means troubles, that means pain, that means woe, woe, woe.

Now I've lived some and I've learned some,
But my mama told me all I need to know (need to know):
Everybody that I meet just seems to make my life complete,

Bring me troubles, bring me pain, they bring me woe, woe, woe,
They bring me troubles, bring me pain, they bring me woe, woe, woe.

First they lay down their heavy burden (heavy burden),
Then I show them what to do and where to go (where to go).
Well I'm a lucky, lucky girl,
I'm like a swine before a pearl,

I see troubles, I see pain, I see woe, woe, woe.
I see troubles, I see pain, I see woe, woe, woe.
Oh, gimme your troubles,
Give me your pa-a-in,
Give me your wo-o-oe, woe, woe, woe, woe, woe ...

Every “498A victim” who comes to me wants a quick solution to all their problems and they insist on being sure that the solution I offer will give them exactly what they want. Here’s the essence of what I tell them, since this is all I know and this is all I do. I thought it is about time I made public, the secret of my happiness.

No one knows where we're going.
No one knows where we've been.
Strangers follow us, dangers fall on us.
Life play tricks and they're mean.

Only one thing can save us.
Only one thing will do.
Stand up nice and straight.  Don't capitulate.
Courage lives and it's you.

Catch a tail by the tiger.
Take the horns by the bull.
A bird in need is a friend indeed,
So pull the eyes over the wool.

"Uh, Gobo, I think you got it backwards.  The saying is that you
gotta catch a tiger by the tail,"  Wembley.
   "Sure.  If you want to do it the easy way.  On the other hand,
   if you really want bravery, then you gotta," Gobo.

Catch a tail by the tiger.
Take the horns by the bull.
A bird in need is a friend indeed,
So pull the eyes over the wool.

Steely gaze in the sunrise.
Lonesome walk in the dawn.
Sometimes lonely, but living only for truth,
When truth may be gone.

Danger lurks at the crossroads.
Shadows loom on the wall.
Sounds behind us and hounds will find us,
And death and taxes and all.

So, catch a tail by the tiger.
Take the horns by the bull.
A bird in need is a friend indeed,
So pull the eyes over the wool.

Catch a tail by the tiger.
Take the horns by the bull.
A bird in need is a friend indeed,
So pull the eyes over the wool.
One Response to Life – Fraggle Rock to 498A

  1. Gokul.P.R says:

    I remember Fragile rock(or was it Fraggle!) but I was a fan of “Diddie’s comedy”.

    Looking the amount of gyan you remember Iam sure that you loved this show :). The same kind of moral courage I get by remembering stories from Amar Chitra Katha… classic stories with morals.

Leave a Reply

